1ST XI Footballers claim the Secondary Schools Premiership title for the first time in 26 years

St John's 1st XI Football team won the Waikato Secondary School Premier Division for the first time since 1995 . A Premier Championship is a huge achievement for any secondary school player, in any code – to be part of a team that is the very best in the region is a special honour. Kino ke te mahi to our 1st XI Footballers and their coaching staff and all of the parents and volunteers who’ve supported this team to become the best. Their season stats were 7 wins, 2 draws and 1 loss, and this included beating the defending champions twice this year! This team also won the CNI tournament earlier this year. 

In 2011 Mr Hayden Miller picked up the role of Teacher In Charge (TIC) of Football. He has been highly motivated for success, measured as our 1st XI to be the Number 1 team in the Premier Division. He is determined to continue this progress so that SJC Football remains a consistent performer at the highest level.

 We have great depth in our football programme, regularly fielding 4 senior & 4 junior teams.  When graded, the majority of these teams are placed in the top divisions and finish the season well placed in their respective grades.

This years’ success has been the result of a combination of factors; having a clear vision, passionate experienced coaches who have fully committed themselves for a number of years, supportive parents, student buy in, and players seeking extra opportunities to improve (club football, Federation teams, etc).

 The College has been very fortunate to have Brian Webb with the Colts A and Geraint Walters with the 1st XI for the past 7 years. They both have made their mark on the College football programme and shared their wealth of knowledge and expertise with our boys.

 Mr Miller and the College acknowledge the hard work, planning and involvement from others – willing parents over many years who have taken on coaching and managing roles and devoted themselves to building the platform for our boys to succeed.

Our boys have responded too, continually setting a benchmark for positive behaviour, representing the College positively and committing to hard work.

 We look forward to future years and working with our current coaches and staff (Mr Chan Park, Mr Patrick Woodlock, and Mr Justin Cullingworth) involved with Football to ride this wave of success and continue producing great football teams at St John’s College.

 Team List:

Toby Dowsett, Johan Garcia Cedeno,  Edward Prestidge-King, Reilly Benefield, Riley Sexton,   Karson Grant, Thomas Roach, Rhys McLeod-Dunn, Brooklyn Miller,  Samuel Slone, Jakub Dowd, Antoneo van Deursen,  Matthew Jordan,  Thomas Walters, George Heal, Rejo Johnson, Geraint Walters (Coach), Kerron Sexton (Manager)

This article was originally posted on: October, 12th 2021